Winners of 2019 EAAFP Waterbirds Photo Contest Unveiled

The results of the first-ever EAAFP Waterbirds Photo Contest is finally released. More than 1000 photo entries were submitted to four categories. Over 350 participants joined the contest. The Grand Prix Winner goes to a photo of a Bar-tailed Godwit, by Georgina Steytler from Australia.

In order to raise awareness of the importance of conservation of migratory waterbirds and sustainable management of their habitats, the EAAFP launched its first Waterbirds Photo Contest in September 2019. The contest invited the general public and wildlife photographers as well as the Partners and Flyway Network Site managers to share the beauty of waterbirds and their habitats in the flyway with people around the world through photography. The theme of this year’s Photo Contest was “Flyways – Connecting People and Migratory Waterbirds.” which is in line with the EAAFP’s theme for 2019 – 2020, to highlight that human being is linked with migratory waterbirds and the wetlands they rely on, in our daily lives,  culture, tradition, and art. Moreover, everyone along the Flyway, including farmers, fishermen, land managers, NGOs, researchers and others can play a role in the conservation of migratory waterbirds and the sustainable management of their habitats.

The Photo Contest opened on 30th September 2019 and ended on 15 November 2019. Sony Electronics Asia Pacific was the sponsor of the contest, fully supporting the project. The supporting organizations include Nature Society Singapore, Hong Kong Bird Watching Society, Bird Conservation Society of Thailand and Oriental Bird Club. The contest had four entry categories; Adult, Youth, EAAFP Site Managers and Sony RX10 series. In total 1,116 photos were submitted by 351 participants from within the EAAF and outside of the flyway.

The winners of each category and a Grand Prix were announced on 10 December 2019. Enjoy the winning photos below:

Grand Prix Winner:  Georgina Steytler (Australia)

“Waving Goodbye”

Adult Group Winner:  Kwok Tsz Ki (Hong Kong, China)

“Worm Puller”

Youth Group Winner: Katanyou Wuttichaitanakorn (Thailand)

 “Line Up”

Site Managers Group Winner:David Li (Singapore) 

“Beautiful Shirt” 

Sony RX10 Series Winner: Yao Zhou (China)

“Sun bath of the Siberian Crane” 

The winning photos were selected by the judge panel. We would like to deliver our greatest gratitude to all the judges who offered their time and great efforts to evaluate the entries. They are:

  • Arkellah Irving (Chair of EAAFP CEPA Working Group, lead judge)
  • Greg Baker (Publicity Officer of the Northwich Photographic Society and representing judge of Oriental Bird Club)
  • Eugene Cheah (EAAFP Contributing Photographer)
  • Leung Ka Wing (Professional wildlife photographer and Sony featured photographer)

The detailed descriptions of winning photo are found on the photo contest website.

Visit our contest homepage to explore more of the winning photography!

Grand Prix     Adult Group   Youth Group    EAAFP Site Managers Group   Sony RX 10 Series

Post a comment