Celebrating Australia’s Migratory Waterbirds and their habitats

Department of the Environment and Energy
Australian Government

Showcasing Australia’s Flyway Site Network

The East Asian-Australasian Flyway Site Network is a voluntary, non-binding, collaborative project involving over 130 sites across 22 countries. The Flyway Site Network has been operating since 1996 under the Asia-Pacific Migratory Waterbird Conservation Strategy and is now supported by the East Asian-Australasian Flyway Partnership.

The Flyway Site Network represents a unique opportunity for national governments, non-government organisations and site managers in the Flyway to work together to achieve more effective conservation and protection of migratory waterbirds. The Network provides for internationally important sites to be included in a broad-based conservation arrangement across the Flyway. Through the Flyway Site Network, national governments, site managers and local stakeholders can work cooperatively to achieve positive conservation outcomes to protect migratory waterbirds.

The conservation of migratory waterbirds is dependent on the appropriate management of a comprehensive network of internationally important sites. Increasing the number of sites in the Network will enhance its overall effectiveness.

This publication showcases 24 East Asian-Australasian Flyway Partnership Network Sites in Australia, many of which are Ramsar sites, including Roebuck Bay in north-west Western Australia, Moreton Bay in Queensland, Logan Lagoon in Tasmania and Corner Inlet in Victoria. Flyway Network Sites may be designated regardless of tenure or protected status and several Australian sites are privately managed, e.g. by Indigenous communities. Along with migratory waterbirds, the Flyway Site Network also protects many Australian endemic, threatened and migratory species and threatened ecological communities.



Further information:

Original link:


Comments are closed.